Tim Dunlop: Blogging the new Citizenship II
(Why It’s Important to Participate)

Do I have to make a political statement when blogging? Am I being irresponsible if I don’t take the time to address political issues in my community, country, or the world? Is it my duty as an active citizen to give my opinion about topics that directly affect my neighbors such as immigrant voting rights, or birth control for teens? I would rather talk about my grandmother’s delicious recipe for mac and cheese or some other good tasting food that I know and love today. Or maybe I could write about the interesting people that I have met in the last year. When I decided to begin blogging I thought that it was just writing something about my day, anything that I wanted to say just to make chatter. I saw blogging as mindful reminiscing, sharing funny antidotes about growing up, or historical events that I was able to witness sometime ago, you know, chatter.

I thought that when people took time to speak out about political issues they were sometimes speaking on issues where they had not expertise and so no right to speak or challenge the opinions of the experts on these issues. After reading Dunlop my opinion has changed. I know that active citizenship is important and the opinions of citizens should be heard on all topics if our democracy is to continue to be a democracy. The new public intellectual is the person that knows their duty is to respectfully argue their opinions online with those of different opinions if they see a political cause. Such as birth control for teens, and immigrant voting rights, two topics that I have strong opinions about. According to Dunlap our opinions will matter and could change the opinion of another if we are able to present our information correctly.

I have also decided to continue to blog the things that I enjoy, but to also blog the things that I like to share.

