Today I am supposed to blog about two George Orwell short stories, “Shooting an elephant”and “A Hanging.”  When reading these writings something stirred in me, but I am not exactly sure what it was. I am unable to identify it.  Mr. Orwell appears to be extremely self-centered .  He talks about how he hated being hated yet, not once does he mention one kindness that he offered to the people of Burma while he was stationed there.  I am puzzled about his intentions to the people.  Even though he said that he hated imperialism and was against their oppressors.  He speaks as if he is the victim in the situation and he is the one being oppressed by an empiralist government. I think that he wants the audience to know that he is being stationed there against his will and he just wants to be somewhere else.
Yet I like reading his books because his writing makes be feel that I am right there within the story. He had he ability to draw his readers into the story by being descriptive in his writing. For instance in the hanging I felt like I was also walking along side the prisoner as he was going to the gallows. I felt a little cheated that Orwell did not concentrate on telling us about the poor man’s crime. But then I would be trying to tell Orwell’s story and that is not fair for me to tell him how to tell the story. I may just feel nosy wanting to know the personal part of the story, a little mystery is allowed to any writer. But, I wanted to make sure that this man was guilty of death and it was justified in hanging him. I needed to know that he had committed an act like the murder of an innocent person and deserved what was happening to him. That he was not a oppressed villager being hung by his oppressors. I would have then felt comfortable about his death.

Orwell’s writing is brilliant. He adds so much detail that I drew a picture in my head of what it must have been like to walk through the soggy streets with the man due to be executed. Or to watch the elephant as it swayed back and forth under its massive weight, deciding if it would charge again or lay down and take its fate. EXCITEMENT!!! That is what a Orwell story gives to its readers.

